France reveals details of its ‘Traffic light’ travel rule system

The US and UK have been placed on France’s orange list, meaning only vaccinated travellers will be able to enter the country. The rest of Europe has been placed in the green zone, with only a negative test required by authorities.

The government revealed to French media RMC and BFMTV on Friday details of its ‘Traffic light’ based travel rule system, due to take effect from Wednesday 9th June.

Jean-Baptiste Lemoyne, Secretary of State in charge of Tourism, confirmed that countries will be placed in three categories: green, orange and red.

All member states of the European Union as well as Australia, South Korea, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand and Singapore have been placed in the ‘green zone’. Travellers from these countries will be able to enter France freely if they are vaccinated. For others, a negative PCR or antigen test of less than 72 hours will be requested.

People will be considered vaccinated two weeks after they receive both doses, or four weeks for those vaccinated with Johnson & Johnson’s vaccine.

The United States and the United Kingdom have been placed in the ‘orange zone’, “where the circulation of the virus still exists but is under control and where there is no variant of concern,” said Jean-Baptiste Lemoyne. Travellers from these countries must not only be vaccinated but also present a negative PCR test of less than 72 hours or an antigen test of less than 48 hours. Non-vaccinated people will not be able to set foot on French soil unless they have a compelling reason.

Finally, the countries falling into the ‘red zone’ include South Africa, Brazil and India. Travellers from these countries will not be able to come to France without a compelling reason, whether they are vaccinated or not.

Photo by Yousef Alfuhigi on Unsplash

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial